Seasons Change

I love summer. Summer weather reminds me of the beach and I love the beach. I like looking at the snow, but I’d rather be playing in the sand. Just like I love football; Clemson football. I like watching other college teams but I’d rather be wearing orange in Death Valley.  And that is my take on the 2016 election results. I can accept the decision, but I’d rather be celebrating something else.

There is a season for everything, a time for every activity under heaven. There was a time for the first African American President and there will be a time for the first woman president, the first Latina president and so forth.  The American system is designed for people to vote for their choice and America has spoken.

When the seasons change it can be extremely hard. I will admit I was stunned during election week. I cried.  It is challenging to articulate on a personal level how motivating it is to see leaders who, in some respect represent my world, challenge themselves with enormous opportunities and fight for excellence every day. There will always be a critic but you have to respect the struggle and the success.  That season is coming to an end.

One thing I know for sure is that history repeats itself.

We saw this division on some scale in Presidential race in 2004. I believe the challenge was not on the candidate but how the voice of people was not reflected in the candidate who won. The global stage challenged our system then just as it is challenging our system now.  The world is watching again as the country which calls herself “United States of America” grapples with the definition of united.  We are in a scenario where “who we say we are” is in direct contrast with “who we have decided should lead us.”

I think it is important to realize that less people are voting. People are disenfranchised to the system and that has to change. America is scared, divided and no one is talking about it. There is a time to be quiet and a time to speak. Now is not the time to be quiet!

It is also equally important to remember that this country was founded with the messaging of “One Nation under God,” “Good Will Toward Men,” and “In God We Trust.” Those are not just words to many people; it is a way of life.

I want to live in a country where people demonstrate those attributes with respect toward others and diversity is the society norm. This is not about going to church or a challenge to your religious affiliation.  This is about the heart condition of America and how we as Americas view our fellow neighbor. It is about being a nation for the people, all people, and diverse people.

Diversity is not just visible, it is also invisible. Visible diversity is generally those things we cannot change and are external, such as age, race, ethnicity, gender, religious symbols, and physical attributes. Invisible diversity includes those attributes that are not readily seen, such as work experience, marital status, educational background, parental status, income, religious beliefs and affiliations, geographic location, or socioeconomic status.

Valuing diversity is a combination of both invisible and visible so when we recognize it, we are recognizing, embracing, valuing the uniqueness of the individual. When we value those attributes then I believe we as a country progress toward reflecting a “United” States of America. This is what I will teach my children, my friends and everyone.

There is definitely a changing of the guard in Washington DC. It will not change how I will behave. I will continue to meet people where they are on their personal journey to fabulousness, treat everyone with decency and most importantly listen to others even if I do not agree. I think it starts with self.  Accepting others without fear has to be at the forefront of what we want in life and for our families. We are ill-fated if there is a belief we can move forward without addressing these issues.

We are also disillusioned if we believe that we as a country are not as progressive as we should be toward promoting women in executive, senior executive, and CEO positions (and that’s for another blog).

I think there will always be people who reject the notion of working together and that different is not better. And we will pray for their minds to be opened & their hearts to be renewed. But for me, I will strive to do better.

So I anticipate fireworks in Washington. I anticipate fireworks everywhere because we need to be talking about this.  I anticipate big change. I anticipate a lot. Some I’ll like, some I will not.

We live in the most powerful nation in the world. The Office of the President is not just a location it’s a force of nature. I am not indicating that I am against the incoming administration. I write this blog to ask “Is the incoming administration against me or for me?”

My position will be “Lord Let not the Man change the office but Let the office change the man.”

2 thoughts on “Seasons Change

  1. Great post! I agree that when we encounter or meet others that if we have a heart of acceptance we can actually have dialogue that will enable us to see how much we’re alike which I believe is greater than whatever differences we might have.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment